top of page

Response to 'Millennials in the Workplace' Video

For the very few of us who have not seen Simon Sinek's rant about Millennials in the Workplace, the marketing consultant and supposed motivational speaker explains the Millennial generation in four simple categories; Failed Parenting, Impatience, Technology, and (Corporate) Environment.

The first time I watched this, I found multiple areas where I not only disagreed with, but was personally offended by. Sinek starts off by over-generalizing and stereotyping people born from the Millennial generation as being lazy, entitled, narcissistic, unfocused, and self-interested. Sinek first explains how Millennials grew up believing that they did not have to put in work because if they simply ask for it, their parents will provide. I have spoken with my peers and reflected on my own upbringing as a Millennial. My siblings and I are a part of the first generation of immigrant parents who have left their homeland with very little and worked from the ground-up for a better life in North America. A migrating story similar to most North American families, therefore, (in my own household at least) hard-work and perseverance is highly valued which explains why I take a personal offense to Sinek's negative perception of this generation. He then contradicts himself by stating that Millennials are confident and entitled because of the concept of last place trophies, then states that last place trophies actually worsens the self-esteem of Millennials. So, where is he getting this evidence from? Your answer is as good as mine. Throughout Sinek's whole rant, he never mentioned any research study or statistical evidence to back up his claims. In addition to his over-generalization, he lowers expectations and the capabilities of Millennials, again, with no evidence to support. As Sinek discusses about technology, he has built a perception that Millennials are incapable of distinguishing "Followers" versus meaning relationships. As explained an analytical break-down video rebutting Simon Sinek, just because I have 300 followers on Instagram, does not mean I believe that I have built meaningful and close relationships with all 300 of them. Click here for the full break-down and analysis of Simon Sinek's talk done by The Young Turks Network's political journalist, Hasan Piker.

It was not until the fourth time I listened to Simon Sinek's talk where I found things that I could connect with children and technology in an early learning setting. When Sinek explains the attachment that Millennials have with their electronic devices, specifically their smartphones, I believe that that is true for anyone a part of this new technological era regardless of age. Due to this over exposure and consistent access to social media, people are gradually becoming in need of more stimulation to captivate and sustain their interest. I admit to skip thirty second advertisements on YouTube yet when I was younger, I sat through six minutes of commercials between my cartoon shows. In the context of early childhood education, since educators cannot control the growth of the overly stimulated population and the potential increase of children with shorter attention spans, there needs to be more activities that enhances the focus and prolongs the attention of children. These activities could be as simple as allowing children to explore and discover things in nature which builds more appreciation for the small simple things. Sinek mentioned how social media could be compared to dangerous and high addictions such as alcohol and drugs, which again is backed by no scientific references. I also recognize that it would be impossible to control an age restriction on the Internet and that social media can be easily accessible to anyone who wants it; just like sex. And just like sex, educators cannot restrict their students from participating no matter how much they advocate against it. With this in mind, there needs to be more focus and advocacy on how to safely use social media at an early age because their exposure to it is inevitable.

All in all, Sinek's talk is basically an anecdotal rant about his thoughts and feelings rather than a factual, constructive piece of how to improve the well-being of these supposedly distressed Millennials. As an aspiring early childhood educator and mentor for the following generation to come, I believe it is essential to create a nurturing and safe environment for the next generation's well-being. Unlike Sinek's negative perception of the generation after him, I believe that the next generation will be filled with potential and capabilities which is why I will hold high expectations that I believe they can reach.

References

Millennials in the Workplace [Video file]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hER0Qp6QJNU&t=30s

The Breakdown [Video file]. Retrieved from https://www.facebook.com/TheYoungTurks/videos/10154308176229205/?pnref=story


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page